Cult of drinking tea

Tea is not a drink that was created recently. Dates go back to the third century AD and it has been confirmed in medical texts at are written by Hua Tao. This drink was introduced during the 16th century to the merchants and the Portuguese priests. A century later, this beverage became the norm in British where every type of society wanted to serve it. It became the most popular item of the gathering. Thus began the tea drinking cult.

Tea is often believed to be the quintessential British Beverage but the fact that it goes so much back in history makes it all the more exotic a drink. It is almost funny that what is now considered to be a household drink was created quite by accident. Taking place in the third Century AD, the story goes that the help who was boiling water for the Chinese Emperor Nung did not notice the green leaves that fell into it. The emperor, who was a renowned herbalist of his time, decided to try the drink and liked it indeed. The leaves that fell into the water belonged to what is now known as Camellia Sinensis. The drink has become the tea that is consumed today.

While the story is extremely entertaining and does not have any proof of having taken place, the drink has found its place firmly in history. It took Britain to bring in a Portuguese Princess to be introduced to tea. She was a tea addict and brought in the fashionable beverage to the royal court first and then amidst the wealthy class. Today, the whole of the English along with the rest of the world consume this drink for both pleasure and the medical benefits.
Different ways of drinking tea

Tea comes strictly from the Camellia plant. Everything else is just an infusion. The different other varieties include herb and fruit. The different types of tea are black tea, yellow tea, white tea, green tea, puerh tea and oolong tea. The different types of tea essentially describe the process in which the tea is made.

Processes of making different types of tea

The withering of the tea is one of the most important processes while making the tea. The way it is withered and the amount of time spent on it has a direct impact on the final product. There are two types of withering – physical withering and chemical withering. While the chemical process begins immediately after the leaves are plucked, the physical withering means removing the moisture from the leaf first. The duration of the physical withering is shorter than the chemical version.

Green Tea

The tea leaf is withered and then steamed and rolled up. The firing or the drying comes in the end for preventing the veins in the leaf from breaking. This stops the oxidization of the leaf. Green tea is a specialty tea consumed for mostly health purposes. It can boost the rate of metabolism and reduce the risk of any signs of neurological diseases.

White tea

Plucked before the opening of the buds, this type of tea is withered such that the natural moisture can evaporate and can dry. It gets the name silvertip from the silvery appearance of the curled up buds. While it is less popular, this tea can kill the bacteria, fungi, and virus in the body better than the other types of tea.

Oolong tea

This semi-fermented tea or semi-green tea follows the same process as the black tea. The difference is that the oxidization time is cut down to half its original time. it is fried or dried an hour or two later. This leaf is fairly orthodox in nature and is consumed best when no milk is added. The light and delicate flavour cannot be diluted or mixed with any other ingredient. Known for the antioxidant properties, it has the potential to prevent arthritis and cancer. It can also boost the metabolism rate along with regulating blood sugar and promoting weight loss. Healthy skin and reduction in the effects of eczema
The reasons for drinking different types of tea may be different but it is a proven fact that tea is not just fashionable and popular but good for the health. A look at the different types of Tea and Coffeewill will tell you what you need to know.